Green Roast

So, I had a roast a couple of pounds heavy in my fridge and almost anything else in my fridge, and the fact that I have had some family visits for the past week left me with almost no money, so I decided to try and do something kind of a kitchen sink thing. I did look for ideas, and landed into Civilized Caveman Cookblog’s recipe for bacon roast, but I didn’t have any bacon. I did have some collard greens and since one of the commenters in the post said that kale was a great addition to the crockpot I said, “Why not?”
20120728-090315.jpg

I took my roast, put a bunch of garlic cloves in it, and then used spices all over it. Salt, pepper, thyme, oregano and cloves.
20120728-090413.jpg

Into the crockpot! Since I had some leftover wine, I added it in order to ensure it wouldn’t dry up. You can’t see it here but I had also chopped an onion and put it in the crockpot, on top of the greens.
20120728-090525.jpg

But oh! I went to see Florence and The Machine that night, and since I started the crockpot in the morning, when I finally turned it off around midnight, it had dried out a little, but only on the outside! It also looked a little gross.
20120728-090620.jpg

So I decided to open it and see how it was inside. Just one way to describe it: delicious! I shredded it and made some lettuce wraps with it.
20120728-090709.jpg

Since this was almost everything made from leftovers from my meat box, my CSA and some cheap wine (amazingly, obtained at Whole Foods) I basically spent short to nothing making this.
Today’s link goes to the amazing Civilized Caveman Cookblog, one of the most intesting collections off original recipes in the paleo world. A must see for every kind of foods, particularly foods that appeal to the male palate.
http://civilizedcavemancooking.com/crockpot/bacon-crock-pot-roast/

I also want to give a shout out to my CSA, Grant Farms in Colorado. Their shares are a fair size, the veggies a delicious (this is my first year, so far we’ve been six weeks and except for the rhubarb that turned out to be a mistery to me, it’s been an amazing journey) and most important of all: they sell pastured omnivore eggs! And chickens! Something a little hard to come by in Boulder, surprisingly. Also, they let you pay with a credit card, which is Awesome because as a grad student sometimes I have to play with my income.
http://grantfarms.com/

Last but not least, my meat box! Sun Prairie Farms, you guys are amazing! Until I get a chest freezer you’ll be my go to selection for grass fed meat. Maybe even after if I manage to get a quarter cow from you.
http://sunprairiebeef.com/

That’s for the moment!

Say something!

