A good old american meal

You know, I don’t know if it is everywhere but at least looking at my roommate, I would say the art of making a good burger patty is lost. Like completely. He would get a tub of ground beef, slice it and fry it in oil. And call that a burger. I will just say that if your food comes in a tub it probably is not healthy.

20120819-204739.jpg
My mom would always use a pound of beef (at least 85%, leaner meats don’t hold together that well) with an egg, salt, pepper, and cilantro. I substituted with a little oregano for a smokier flavor.

20120819-204850.jpg
You mix it all together and make the patties. A restaurant back home will marinate them for thirty minutes or so in their secret sauce, I guess I could do that but I don’t have a secret sauce. But I do have a griddle!

20120819-204944.jpg
Grass fed meat is more flavorful if let medium well. Just make sure it is not bloody (unless you like it that way).

20120819-205044.jpg
A good burger needs its lettuce, tomatoes, onions, ketchup and mustard. And if you tolerate dairy, cheese. Yes, that is homemade ketchup. No, that is not homemade mustard. Haven’t tried to do it. Yet.

Say something!

