Elana v. Bob

I first heard of Elana Amsterdam when randomly wandering the hallways of Peppercorn, a cooking store in Boulder (The Cooking Store in Boulder) and seeing her book, The Gluten Free Almond Cookbook, a damn fine collection of gluten free baking recipes. However, I’ve always told myself that I should try to keep at a minimun all that is baking and cookie substitution, since I agree with the Hartwig’s when they say that if you substitute all the sweets and stuff you are leaving behind, then you are just going to make it harder to yourself to reach your goal (in my case, being healthy). That didn’t stop me from oogling at her site every once in a while. That’s how I found out she was moving towards a Paleo diet in the past year and made more recipes that agreed as much as possible with the Paleo principles. Between that and the fact that I needed to get rid of a bag of almond flour I decided to try my hands at baking for the first time.

20120908-082316.jpg
I started with greasing the loaf pan with coconut oil. Being my first time baking I used my roommate’s pan, without measuring it, which I think affected the behavior of the bread later.

20120908-082438.jpg
Dry ingredients were almond flour, coconut flour, flaxseed meal (a little), and baking soda.

20120908-082529.jpg
Wet ingredients include eggs, coconut oil, honey and apple cider vinegar. This is where greasing the pan before everything else is important: what makes this (and most of gluten free breads) rise is the reaction between baking soda and apple cider vinegar (remember the volcano you made as a kid for science class?) so you want to pour the batter and put it in the oven as soon as possible (400F, 30 min).

20120908-082741.jpg
As you can see my bread didn’t rise, and I think it was because of the size of the pan. Elana has an specific measurement for it, and I didn’t check (wouldn’t have bought it, anyways) so I got dwarf bread instead. It was fucking delicious anyways, so no need to worry about it.
Link to Elana’s Pantry, of course. And I need to explain the title of the post: Elana does NOT reccommend Bob’s Red Mill products, having had bad experiences with them before. However, it was the only thing I had in my pantry and I didn,t want to spend any MORE money than I did getting the stuff I was still missing. It still worked, I think…

Say something!

