Fuzzy about kneecaps

Yes, I am a nerd. If you recognize the quote then you know I’m talking about Shepherd Book from Firefly, and this recipe is Shepherd’s pie.

20120912-192809.jpg
I don’t understand how some people do not love Shepherd’s pie. It’s warm and comfy and delicious! Not exactly easy to make though, mostly because it is a little time intensive, but mostly at the beginning, when you have to work with all the ingredients. And that’s the reason why there aren’t many pictures!
I started by steaming cauliflower until it was really tender. Like almost falling apart. Moved it into the food processor with two tablespoons of butter and let it grind until it became a buttery dough. I added salt and pepper until the taste felt perfect.
While the cauliflower was bein pureed, I sauteed some chopped onions until transparent, then added ground beef, a bag of frozen carrots and peas and a bag of frozen green beans and cooked until everything was tender. I added a spoon of coconut flour to remove the humidity from the frozen stuff, salted, peppered and thymed.

20120912-193606.jpg
I put the spread over it, trying to keep it as even as possible.

20120912-193628.jpg
I baked for thirty minutes at 400F.

20120912-193707.jpg
It could’ve used more butter, to prevent it from cracking. Since I cooked it in a cast iron skillet I moved it to containers even if it meant it lost its form because the water could condense and rust the skillet.
Adapted from The Primal Blueprint User Created Cookbook

One thought on “Fuzzy about kneecaps

Say something!

