Cruciferous soup

In a follow up to a cruciferous breakfast, this is a cruciferous soup. Basically some cruciferous greens in chicken stock.

20120930-205605.jpg
Something I’ve learned during my cooking journey is that bacon is quite easy to burn. And something else I’ve learned is that when frying with olive oil you want to add some butter to increase the smoking point and prevent its burning. So I decided to use that idea and add some butter to my bacon. It was a good idea.

20120930-205849.jpg
I added the chard and braised it in the bacon drippings until soft. Then I added a quart of chicken stock and let it boil for a while.

20120930-210042.jpg
Doesn’t it look lovely? I added some cheese I got at the farmer’s market. That is entirely optional.

Say something!

