First time for everything!

My grandmother, Rest In Peace, would always bake a carrot cake for me on my birthday. It was the thing she did to celebrate. So no matter what, I always try and have carrot cake for my birthday. And six weeks before it, I decided to try my hand at it and see if I can do it or not.

20121007-143104.jpg
I decided to follow Elana’s recipe, which divides the cake in three structures: carrots, dry mixture and wet mixture. In dry mixture goes the almond flour, baking soda and celtic sea; in the wet mixture goes agave, grapeseed oil and eggs; and in the carrots go… well, the carrots!

20121007-143414.jpg
First I shredded the carrots (Thank the heavens for the existence of the food processor) and mixed some raisins and walnuts with them. In another bowl I mixed all the wet ingredients and in a different (larger one) I mixed all the dry ones. I added the carrot and raisins to the wet mixture, and then the whole thing to the dry mixture.

20121007-143530.jpg
I poured it into greased pans, and waited. And waited. And waited.

20121007-143606.jpg
And this happened. And then I try to make Coconut Frosting… and THIS happened.

20121007-143636.jpg
Not pretty at all 😦
But at least it was pretty good. I need to get better at making frostings.
Caveat lector: even though I did share it with my roommates, I felt too ashamed to share this cake so I ended up eating most of it. Bad Idea. Remember, sweets are treats, not food per se. Enjoy the small treat, don’t end up hating the big one!

Say something!

