Destroying a perfectly vegan recipe

I’ve mentioned the guys at The Bitten Word before. They read magazines, they try recipes, they comment about it. And recently they had a vegan Cream of Greens Soup. And since I had to get rid of some collards that came with the CSA I decided to follow it, but my way.

20121113-183433.jpg
First you are supposed to fry a chopped onion in olive oil; I did it in butter. Then you are to add a cauliflower head and fill the pot with water; I used chicken stock. You let it boil until tender, and then you add the greens. I decided to add salt to the boiling stock just to accentuate the taste of the soup.

20121113-183546.jpg
When tender you blend it by batches; I decided to use my hand blender. Warm and creamy, you are to serve it as soon as you salt and pepper to taste; I decided to put it in jars before it was finished and then finish it every time as I needed.

20121113-183707.jpg
This way is easier to control the amount of salt and pepper that goes into it. In the end, it went pretty good.

20121113-191556.jpg
It went so good that the Couchsurfers loved it!

Say something!

