Cowboys love their pots

I’m sorry but as a good westerner I love meals that involve meat and chile. In other words, I love chili.

20121126-183057.jpg
The mexican name for it would be picadillo, which differs from american picadillo (or at least the Desperate Housewives version) in that we use meat, not minced fruit. Real meat. Like that bacon that is rendering fat! Fat in which I cooked onions and garlic!

20121126-183152.jpg
I did add just a bit of coconut oil to prevent the bacon from sticking on the bottom. When enough fat was rendered and the onions were translucent I added the meat, one pound beef and one pound bison, and cooked thoroughly.

20121126-183341.jpg
After I added tomatoes, chicken broth, carrots, paprika, oregano, salt, pepper and let it simmer for an hour. Checking every so often to make sure the meat was not burning or something. After that I added some chocolate and more salt and pepper and let it dry out for another twenty minutes.

20121126-183840.jpg
Delicious.
Recipe from Mark Sisson’s The Primal Blueprint Cookbook.

One thought on “Cowboys love their pots

Say something!

