Last day of my CSA

Last Friday was the last day my CSA delivered for the season. They went out with the full monty, and I came home with a large bunch of carrots and a fairly large amount of turnips. However, today I will talk about the cabbages. I got three different cabbages this time, so I immediately looked for new ways to cook it.

20121203-134208.jpg
In this case I used Whole Life Eating’s Chorizo with Cabbage recipe. I mised-en-place the onions, peppers and cabbage, all cut to small pieces, and got my Whole Foods chorizo (bulk, since it was cheaper than links).

20121203-134453.jpg
As usual, I first fried the onions in coconut oil, and then I added the peppers and the cabbage (not following the recipe, a mistake of mine). I waited until the cabbage started to wilt and then added the chorizo, breaking it down with my spatula, until fully cooked.

20121203-134549.jpg
The best thing of this dish? It can double as breakfast, lunch, or if served with a hearty soup it can even be called dinner. A triple treat indeed!

One thought on “Last day of my CSA

Say something!

