Soffritto and Mirepoix

I’ve been following Russ’ The Domestic Man for a while now, but I haven’t cooked a lot from his site – just the Russian Cabbage Rolls from a while ago. I like that his site has a lot of different recipes, and that he’s more open to modify the recipes in order to be compliant with different kinds of diets, not only Paleo. I always look at his page whenever I’m cooking for other people, but not much of his creations had been made, until I read PIZZA. That’ll be tomorrow, today is the Red Sauce that goes on top of it!

20121216-153428.jpg
So the first thing I like about this sauce is that it has a soffritto: a mixture of carrots, celery and onion that gives body to the sauce. I used my food processor to shred it.

20121216-153603.jpg
More and more I’m becoming more used to the idea of mise-en-place: in this case I have all the ingredients lined up next to the stove, since most of this recipe it’s just adding them one by one. Oh, and I found BPA-free canned tomatoes. SO HAPPY!

20121216-153747.jpg
So the soffritto needs to be fried in olive oil. And that’s the difference between a soffritto and a mirepoix: olive oil instead of butter. Yeah, whatever.

20121216-153907.jpg
When it’s fried you move it to a sauce pan and add everything else: diced tomatoes, tomato paste, tomato sauce, red wine, salt, pepper, basil, oregano, parsley, garlic and bay leaves. And let it simmer for a long while.

20121216-154006.jpg
I tried it out with some spaghetti squash and sausage. Bellissimo!
Remember to join our Facebook!

Say something!

