Emulating expensive tastes

So, like I rambled last week, I don’t consider myself a chef, not even a cook. But sometimes, necessity forces you to experiment in order to sustain yourself. After all, they say she’s the mother of all inventions.

20130124-184921.jpg
So I carved a chicken and just like for the paella, I sprinkled it generously but with turmeric and pepper, and just a dash of paprika. I wanted a more intense flavor this time. Besides, I felt like using that bottle of turmeric I got when I had to substitute Safrron in a Recipe for Rice and Eggs (since it’s not Paleo I haven’t posted it here, but I may upload pictures of it on the Facebook page). Again, I left it in the fridge for a couple hours, and fried it in coconut oil. I changed it to a baking sheet and baked it for 20 minutes (I love my oven-resistant thermometer!) until cooked. While the chicken was baking I deglazed the pan with chicken stock, and added some tapioca to thicken the sauce. Since some clumps did form I had to strain it. I served it over a bed of arugula salad.

Say something!

