Cooking in batches

One of the main advantages of buying a whole chicken is that you get quite a bang for your buck. I mean, with ten bucks I got all this!

20130210-180612.jpg
It’s been a long journey from the guy who couldn’t hold a knife well to the one who managed to cut that up in five minutes. I still need to bring it down to three.
Anyways, I am doing chicken this week because I need to save money because I spent a lot becaue I am going to a show. It’s my splurge – well, that and food. But the food happens everyday so I guess it’s not a splurge? Wait, I’m deviating to another subject again, aren’t I? Where was I?
Ah, chicken.
So I cut this guy up in pieces and salted it. And fried it in coconut oil.

20130210-180816.jpg
Another thing that I’ve learned is that it is almost never good to crowd a pan. A small tour of my previous posts will show you that is something I use used to do a lot, but I am getting better at it. Smaller batches to ensure everything cooks uniformly instead of a big blob that may have cold spots. After I fried the chicken I introduced a sliced onion

20130210-180938.jpg
and sauteed till golden. I returned the chicken, added a couple cups of chicken stock, some thyme, more salt and let it boil like there was no tomorrow.

20130210-181031.jpg
Because for the chicken there wasn’t. Also, best served with greens.

20130210-181053.jpg
Recipe from my mom. She cooks. Every once in a while. Love you mom!

One thought on “Cooking in batches

  1. Pingback: Fermenting follies II: as long as you clean the spoon | Cooking with an iPad

Say something!

