Fermenting follies II: as long as you clean the spoon

Yesterday I talked about buttermilk. However, since I got a huge bottle of cultured buttermilk I decided it would also be a good idea to make some sour cream (or hopefully, creme fraiche) since I always seem to find a use for it.

20130212-160640.jpg
In this case the ingredients are buttermilk and cream. I used a tablespoon of buttermilk per cup of cream, and put it in my ever present jars of coconut oil.

20130212-160845.jpg
It thickened beautifully. And the first time I used it was today same, since I used a tablespoon to thicken the sauce of the chicken I had just cooked. Delicious!

Say something!

