Oil in my hands

First of all, I´m sorry. I’ve been too busy at work, and that has made me fall back onto recipes that are either easy or that I can make with my eyes closed, and that’s why I haven’t posted anything in the past couple days. I swear I will catch up at some point, but it might take a couple days.
Now, this past weekend a lovely blizzard came upon Colorado and forced me to stay indoors. Since I had bought a huge packet of almond flour because I was supposed to make carrot cake for my frat potluck but ended up making sweet potato brownies I opened my Evernote account and filtered all my recipes with “Almond Flour”.

20130227-072735.jpg
That happened.
They are from Elana’s pantry and the original recipe is quite awesome because it’s vegan and removes the “Can I share this with you?” factor that i encounter when cooking for others sometimes, the only sugar comes from honey and besides the chocolate (I had some Enjoy Life chocolate chips from the brownies – soy free, dairy free, gluten free, but a bit more expensive than your usual chocolate) all the ingredients are handy. Well, I didn’t have palm oil shortening so I subbed with coconut oil.

20130227-073013.jpg
Thing is, when I was making this dough in the food processor… it wasn’t working. It was crumbly. And in my inexperience I kept adding coconut oil. And it wasn’t helping. So I gave up and whisked and egg in, and that helped. A lot. But when I was folding the chocolate chips in the batter was OILY. I had to squeeze the oil out by hand, making a mess. A huge mess.
But after baking carefully (less than ten minutes at 350F) the cookies came out. Chewy, not crumbly, and roommate approved.

Say something!

