Red stew

One of the things I’ve been trying to use more is my crockpot. I mean, technically all I have to do is prep some ingredients and I will have a perfectly cooked meal with minimal effort, right? What throws me off is the fact that, well, most of what I know I can cook in a crockpot is stew, and stew meat is not cheap (well, not for me – it’s always between eight and ten bucks a pound for grass finished meat) so I tend to forget about it. Yes, yes, I know there are several chicken and pork crockpot recipes, but I forget! And speaking of that, I’ve never seen a fish-in-a-crockpot meal, have you?

20130306-152903.jpg
So I decided to modify this stew that I saw at Chowstalker a while ago. Instead of using half and half meats I went all board and used two pounds of ground beef, which I cooked in ghee (I haven’t finished that batch I made three weeks ago) and condimented (except for the coriander seeds – I don’t have an extra mill, and breaking those things with a pestle is a p

20130306-153215.jpg
Like the recipe mentions (sorry, couldn’t find the author’s name, but I’m assuming she’s a girl due to a picture posted on the site) the most problematic portion of this recipe is the mise en place: chop the onions, slice the carrots, panic for not having chipotle en adobo and use roasted peppers with basil instead (again, leftovers from a previous recipe), open the tomato cans, have everything ready before you turn on the stove. After that, is quite easy to just turn on the stove, cook the meat with the spices, and then dump everything into the crockpot and cook it overnight.

20130306-153729.jpg
Waking up you have a very hearty stew – no, the lack of stew meat didn’t turn it into a chili, it had too much liquid to be considered one. Mine, however, was a bit too oily – maybe I used too much ghee when cooking the meat, maybe I shouldn’t have poured the meat cooking liquid into the crockpot as well – but the taste was awesome.

Say something!

